The Body Protest – Daily Prompt 1

15123387_10101933547297973_7486889609677917741_o

This morning I walked out the door and went to work. I remembered my lunch. I remembered my yoga clothes.I remembered to refill Harley and Vesper Cat’s water bowel and to turn the fan off.

But, I forgot to take my thyroid medicine. And without my thyroid medicine, my body protests and fights the things I need to do.

Like, be cogent. My body fights me — my words don’t come out right and I struggle for things to say.

Or, focus. My mind wanders and I struggle with the tasks at hand.

And have energy. I’m on my second cup of coffee already.

If I don’t treat my body right, and give it the things it needs, it protests.

And thyroid medicine is a big one.

Before thyroid medicine, I could sleep for 14 hours and stare blankly at the wall.

Before thyroid medicine my insides would do counterproductive things.

Before thyroid medicine, I struggled in school and couldn’t hold a steady job.

Before thyroid medicine, I had no short term memory.

Before thyroid medicine, my body protested

And, this post took me a good two hours to think of and write.

Today’s going to be a long one.

When I got insurance, and I went to my doctor and told her something was wrong, I expected diabetes or thyroid disease.

I’m ecstatic it’s the latter.

And evidently, it’s genetic. One of the girl cousins on my mom’s side was diagnosed at 12. My grandmother at 26, my mom at 50, and me at 28.

Symptoms may include:

36b966dd176f6cd5b02f58e498622768

I’ve had: weight gain, fatigue, paleness, muscle and joint pain, constipation, perpetually cold toes and fingers, brittle hair, horrible menstrual periods, depression, vitamin D deficiency and some other interesting things that come along with it including being sick.

Being sick all. the. time.

 

Leave a Reply

