The 10 Questions I Have for Other Bloggers

questions

I’ve been doing this blogging thing (on this blog) for two months now and there are some questions that I have been really wanting to ask other bloggers.

  1. Why did you start blogging — business, pleasure, etc?
  2. What are your biggest blogging pet peeves?
  3. Do you want to grow your following, or would you rather keep your numbers smaller? If so, why?
  4. What are some things about blogging you struggle with?
  5. What things excite you the most when reading another person’s blog?
  6. What is your biggest blogging accomplishment?
  7. What do you wish you could do better with your blog?
  8. What do you wish you knew when you first started blogging?
  9. What are your hopes for the future of your blog?
  10. What is the most adverse experience you had blogging?

I hope these questions aren’t too intrusive, but I’m genuinely curious and want to connect with my followers and really get to know all of ya’ll. I’ve found the blogging community to be really insightful and encouraging. If you choose to answer, you don’t have to answer all the questions, or any!

Thanks!

sig

21 thoughts on “The 10 Questions I Have for Other Bloggers

  1. I started blogging because I want to write a book some day and I thought blogging would be a good pathway to that. I would like to grow my following although the amount of following I have isn’t very important to me. I struggle with posting regularly. I get excited to read a blog post when someone is honest or when someone writes something I’m interested in. My biggest accomplishment would be getting over 1000 followers a lot of which have become friends. I wish I could blog more often and regularly. I wish I knew that blogging wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be- you just have to be honest and real.
    Hope that helps! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay. πŸ™‚ I’ve been doing this since 2012, which is a long life in blog years. πŸ˜‰ I started because I wanted to get the word out about narcissists, add my voice to the chorus, that sort of thing. But along the way I found that it helped me to think and to organise my thoughts. It’s a good mental discipline.

    I don’t consider myself to be a writer, like many of the people who blog on WP. I have done some writing and have considered giving it a real effort, but … I don’t know. Maybe down the road. For now, it helps me to think.

    I have found some pretty wonderful people through blogging. Great writers and thinkers and just lovely human beings.

    The number of followers I have is not that important to me. I will sometimes go a very long time without looking at the stats page, although sometimes it also provides me with an inspiration for a post.

    The worst experience blogging has been dealing with a troll or two.

    I wish I had done it sooner. πŸ™‚

    The biggest problem has been keeping up with it. I have sometimes ducked out for 2 or 3 months because of stuff happening in my life – the last couple of years have been very full. I also sometimes struggle with getting posts up.

    Hope this helps. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad I found you through Susie Lindau’s Wide Ride.

    I began blogging almost a year ago as a means of keeping friends and family in the loop while hiking the Appalachian Trail. Over the past few months, I’ve developed a real passion for blogging. Sharing stories and digital art is, and will continue to be, an essential element of my playtime.

    As I discover interesting bloggers like yourself, I’m (finally) realizing that its the conversations and new relationships that makes blogging such as amazing experience. Far more enjoyable than scribbling into the void.

    I know that I have quite a bit to learn about this new vocation/vacation we’ve embarked upon, but it’s exciting to look ahead. There are so many bumps to stumble over, and breathtaking virtual vistas to explore!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was writing in LiveJournal back in the late 1990s when I was a kid. I suffered through numerous mental afflictions, so writing was healthy self-medication, if you will. moreover, I used it as a way to connect with people who were into similar fandoms as myself — anime, for example. eventually, I shifted from LiveJournal to WordPress for a few reasons: 1] LifeJournal was more private, and I wanted my blog to reach and help people; 2] if I get my own website one day, as I hope, I can use the WordPress foundation but not LiveJournal; 3] LiveJournal is not a professional platform.

    throughout all this, my following has grown to over 100 people, though I would like just a little more. I know that of the 100+ the subscribe, not all of them read. I would like to think more than ten or twenty people benefit from what I write.

    my biggest struggle in blogging is doing so consistently. I do not have a posting schedule, which is unfortunate and possibly harmful.

    in reading others, I get frustrated with over-the-top improper grammar. things done to impress a style, a system, or another reasonable explanation — I actually admire those as strokes of miniature creativity. but when a person simply cannot manage to correctly use “than” in a sentence, I get frustrated.

    meanwhile, I love when a blogger bares his or her soul. when I can gaze into the depths of his being just by the words he is sharing, that demonstrates a skill and beauty that I cannot mimic.

    the only advise I have to impart upon other bloggers is to respond to each person who leaves a comment. they are your readers, your audience, your numbers; make them feel special and welcome. in many cases, though not all, a follow-back is aso a great course of action.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is awesome. I did blogging on other sites for a while, but I ended up hating everything I wrote and deleted it. Now I really regret it. It seemed so silly and trivial, but I would like to go back and look at how I perceived the world then.

      And I agree, since I started writing about my anxiety and connecting with people who have similar issues, it has been kind of a relief to know I’m not the only one trying to keep their shit together. And, I can connect with those people who are dealing with issues I’ve overcome and help them — conversely, if I’m going through something someone else has gone through, they’ve helped me.

      Honestly, I’ve been pretty insular in my friend groups since The Psychological Abuser was ousted from my life, because it’s hard to trust people for me. But I feel the experience has helped me become a better judge of character and more protective of myself.

      Thanks for the contribution!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Just saw this in your related posts, you must have posted this before I deemed you worthy of my attention. Well I like quizzes so I thought I’d have a go at this one too. Thankfully no one will read it πŸ™‚

    Why did you start blogging β€” business, pleasure, etc?
    Because the world deserved it!

    What are your biggest blogging pet peeves?
    People who like without reading

    Do you want to grow your following, or would you rather keep your numbers smaller? If so, why?
    Don’t give a crap, would rather honest critique, good or bad, from genuine readers than likes and follows

    What are some things about blogging you struggle with?
    People who like and follow just to increase their own numbers. What’s the point of having 1000 followers and 10 likes?

    What things excite you the most when reading another person’s blog?
    Engaging writing no matter what the subject. Failing that something to laugh at!

    What is your biggest blogging accomplishment?
    Realising that likes and follows meant jack shit!

    What do you wish you could do better with your blog?
    Have you read my blog? It’s perfect

    What do you wish you knew when you first started blogging?
    How fucking useless WordPress (the company) is.

    What are your hopes for the future of your blog?
    There is no future the world will explode this Saturday

    What is the most adverse experience you had blogging?
    I cut my finger and it made it hard to type.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

