The Keto Diaries — Fat Bombs

I’ve gone all day thinking today is Wednesday, when it is actually Damn Tuesday.

download

But I digress…

Tonight, I’m going to make fat bombs for the first time.

Been doing keto now for almost four weeks. I’ve lost 14 lbs so far, and I feel amazing. I’m not going to lie, the first week was pretty hard. I really love this diet. I’ve got S.O. doing it too (but his one concession is sweet tea, which kind of defeats the purpose, but I got him sweetening his tea with stevia).

“What is a fat bomb?” you say.

Ketogenic fat bombs are small snacks or treats that are high in fat and low in carbs (so, literally a fat bomb) that you can eat as a quick breakfast, as a quick mid-afternoon snack, as a pre- or after- workout snack, or as extra fuel during your day.

http://paleomagazine.com/what-are-ketogenic-fat-bombs-recipes-how-to-make

There are two I’m going to make, both cream cheese based.

The first one I’m going to use:

  • Unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Cream Cheese
  • Coconut Oil
  • Stevia
  • Almonds

I’m going to try to get the cocoa/coconut oil/cream cheese mix to the right consistency, and add the raw almond.

The second one is going to be:

  • Cream Cheese
  • Coconut Oil
  • Stevia
  • Blueberries/black berry/raspberry
  • Maybe unsweetened cocoa powder, haven’t decided.

When the mixes are ready, you are supposed to spoon them into mini muffin cups (with the little papers) and freeze until solid.

I also have a really good idea for a peanut butter chocolate one, that I know S.O. will absolutely love.

I will totally update with pictures.

Updated: my fudge ones turned out nicely! I did fudge and almond and a peanut butter fudge cup thingy. It took a while to get the right consistency; I ended up adding plain Greek yogurt to the mix and some heavy cream. My “cheese cake” ones I’m a little leery about… I forgot to add coconut oil to the mix, so they will melt at room temp. But they are awesome. I did two varieties — one with blueberries and one with a frozen strawberry, whose end is dipped in fudge and surrounded by the cheese cake mix.

sig

 

Leave a Reply

