The Keto Diaries — Five Week Keto Update and Recipe Awesomeness

d552cdde37471d9de7cd851f0c2aa5e2

Well, hello fabulous people.

WordPress had changed stuff and it’s not where it used to be. That’s disconcerting.

But!

I wanted to update.

I started counting macros and such because I noticed a plateau in weight loss (this early in, yes I know, I’m obsessive and need to put the scale and measuring tape away)… but yeah counting. I need to take in more fats. Lots more.

So the other night I made the best thing that has ever come out of my kitchen and I wished I had taken a picture, but they were gone so fast… in my tummy.

I took a muffin tin and lined the cups with bacon. Winn Dixie had Oscar Meyer thick cut bacon bo-go.

Then, I made a mixture of ground turkey, two eggs, spices (garlic, salt, pepper, rosemary, etc) and threw in a little bit of crushed pork rinds as a binder (note, eating a whole bag of pork rinds in one sitting will make you physically ill. Seriously).

In another bowl, I mixed together diced jalapenos and cream cheese.

I layered the ground turkey and jalapeno/cream cheese mixture in the bacon lined cups.

Oven. 400 degrees. Half an hour.

Holy god it was amazing!

Tonight, I’m thinking of doing the jalapeno cream cheese mix, but stuff actual pieces of chicken and wrap those suckers in bacon.

Also I’m thinking of doing a soup because of the “cold spell” we’re going to have. I’m going to cook some bacon, then cook chicken thighs in the bacon grease… then take the drippings and meat and make a broccoli cheese soup out of it. The “broth” is going to be heavy whipping cream, unsweetened almond milk, cream cheese, and cheddar cheese.

It sounds so damned unhealthy.

But it’s gonna be sooooooo good.

But in my defense, I had a kale salad with cottage cheese, avocado, and sunflower seeds for lunch.

Also, something I want to try — I heard that mixing coconut oil in your morning coffee is a thing… so I tried it and I like it. Doesn’t taste coconutty or anything. Leaves my lips moisturized. Also throwing in a smidge of unsweetened cocoa powder to add some flavor. However, I found a different recipe called bulletproof coffee

  • Coffee (duh)
  • Knob of butter (whatever that means. Sounds kind of dirty… but I’m also bored at work on a Friday. Sue me. )
  • Coconut oil
  • Sweetener (stevia in my case)

Blend until emulsified.

And evidently that’s supposed to be breakfast. But my coffee ain’t cutting it. I NEED breakfast or by 10:30 I’m ravenous. And I really hate taking early lunches because it makes the afternoon go by soooooo slow.

And some folks in my keto group on FB are talking about fasting — seriously. I can’t. I just can’t. I have thyroid disease and I need to eat. If I don’t eat my body has a hard time processing and using chemical energy. So much nope.

Still down roughly 14 lbs from being weighed in at the doctor in January.

Still getting an hour worth of walking in every day.

Trucking along.

However, I noticed S.O. is terrible for my diet.

sig

14 thoughts on “The Keto Diaries — Five Week Keto Update and Recipe Awesomeness

  1. I can handle coconut oil in coffee but butter? Seems like an odd mix.

    Although for me I could IV coffee and it wouldn’t really change things so mixing anything in might go unnoticed. Actually that’s a bit of a lie, there is one thing you should never mix in your coffee and that is salt, but it’s amazing how similar salt and sugar look after an 8 hour drinking session.

    Liked by 1 person

          • I miss pancakes.

            A few weeks ago S.O. and I went to IHOP. And we got omelettes, but there were pancakes topped with yumminess all around it was pretty tempting. I’ve seen some low carb pancake recipes using egg and almond flower, but it’s not the same.

            I read that raddishes, when roasted and mashed, taste exactly like potatoes.

            It doesn’t. It’s a lie. LOL.

            Liked by 1 person

          • IHop as in place you go and sit in the car? I didn’t think they existed any more.

            My recipe is pretty standard, flour milk, sugar, egg and vanilla essence and sometimes food dye if the kids push hard enough. But blue pancakes really aren’t any tastier, but if you put enough blue in you can’t see the burnt bits 🙂

            I don’t mind radishes but I don’t think I would ever mistake them for potatoes, they have a bite to them. I don’t know of any potatoes that have that.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Aahh ok we have Pancake Parlour here, not all of them are 24 hours but most of them are near cinemas and the like so you can get breakfast all day and night. We’ve taken the kids a few times recently but it’s damn expensive for 4 people considering how cheap pancakes are too make.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Eating out is just plain expensive these days. I remember when I was a kid, my parents would take my brother out to eat, and we could have a good dinner for around $20. Now, just for me and S.O., we can barely have same “good dinner” for $30.

            It gets into cost of living issues. Everyone’s talking about upping the minimum wage, but all that’s going to do is make everything else go up. I remember when I was living in Georgia, it went up from $6.55 to $7.25 and I was working in a mall at that time. I went to Chick Fil A to get a drink and notice their prices on plain fountain drinks had gone up $0.25. And fountain drinks have one of the highest profit margins…

            Every time someone brings up raising minimum wage, I always think of that.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Yeah we have the same issue here, people complain they don’t get paid enough, they go on strike for more money, then the cost of living rises and they want more. People can’t seem to see the vicious circle they are creating for themselves.

            It’s hard to compare dollar for dollar because i think our dollar is only worth about 70ish cents to the US but a single meal at Pancake Parlour, something like a triple stack with ice cream and syrup is about $14 while a stack with a egg and some bacon added to it is nearly $20. That makes breakfast (at any time of the day) more than $50 for a family, makes it hard to justify when pancake’s cost about $5 to make at home and you get a lot more.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. I am not a faster myself. I know the struggle! I am 3 weeks in and have lost 9 pounds. However, I am obsessive over the scale and what not as well so I had to stop when I noticed it stopped moving. Luckily my macros are all in check, I may just be waiting for the popular “whoosh” as some people in the keto community say. Ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right!

      I feel kind of plateaued. May be hormones because shark week can make my weight vary 10lbs. But counting and using an app really helps. My problem has been weekend grazing. During the week, I’ve got my BPC and a good lunch and eat a small dinner… but on the weekend I have a harder time due to lack of routine. I’m hoping that because S.O. got me into Oblivion and Skyrim I can just keep my hands occupied with that instead of grazing.

      As for fasting… so much nope. lol.

      Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

