The Employment Grievance

download

Well, it’s Friday… and ya’ll get two in one day. Mostly because I’m bored and also I just need to write a bit to get out of this weird headspace.

So, back in April of last year, the data analyst position opened up within my unit. When I had originally applied and interviewed for a job with this unit, I interviewed for the data analyst position and lost out by one point to the person who had recently vacated the position. But, they liked me so much that they offered me this job, which is $5 less an hour, but at that point I just needed a job.

So, when the previous data analyst left, I immediately put in my application. And because of the agency I worked for and changes in HR and management, they were holding off on the hiring process.

Understandable.

So, finally it came time to interview. It was between myself and one other candidate. The day of the interview, my boss (who isn’t here anymore) emailed me to cancel interview.

Ok.

Evidently the other candidate got a different job.

And then magically the degree qualifications changed and I was “no longer qualified”.

And it’s not like this is high level data analysis with actual data collection, linear regression, crosstabs, and chi square tests — this is MS Excel and making graphs.

But my background in higher level criminological data analysis was not good enough.

In addition to my background in graphic design, writing, journalism, editing, legal stuff, data analysis, health care, call center, marketing, and vendor experience… willingness to learn new things, embrace changes, and stick-to-it-ness is  just not good enough.

What utter bullshit.

I was beyond livid.

Was I too ambitious? Did I reach too high?

It became obvious, that even though my work was impeccable and I was a fast learner and already doing half of the data analyst job anyways because the position was vacant for the last five months and there was still shit needing to be done, I was not qualified anymore.

More likely, I wasn’t wanted. And I would have rather been told that than this passive aggressive pussyfooting.

Also, because I’d have a lawsuit or a good HR complaint.

And I know I’m not the easiest person to get along with. As I’ve said many times, I’m very INTP, kind of awkward and very logic based.

Folks in the workplace evidently don’t like that.

So, this other dude was hired.

And he keeps fucking up; it makes me both simultaneously chuckle and say “I told you so” and want to pull my hair out because I have to fix his shit.

I’ve been applying to other positions — and what seriously bothers me about the job market is that they ask for an obscene amount of experience and a degree, employers only want to pay $20k-ish per year.

Are people not trained how to do jobs anymore?

And for higher level jobs, they already want you to have experience in a thing that only takes a day or two to learn (purchasing systems, payroll systems, travel systems).

But because you have all these excellent qualifications, but don’t know this one thing that takes a day to learn, you don’t get the job.

Well…

Im’ma start my own place of employment… with blackjack… and hookers.

sig

 

7 thoughts on “The Employment Grievance

  1. Points just for using Bender 🙂

    Gotta love interviews they ask the best questions. “Where do you see yourself in 5 years.” it’s one question you should never be ambitious with because “running the company.” is not the answer the boss wants to hear.

    The last job I applied for before going back to self employment, (11 yrs ago now) was the supervisor for the company I was working at. I’ve been supervisor at one the second depot for nearly 2 years before moving back closer to family and taking the 2IC position at the bigger deport. I spent 4 years as 2IC and did the supervisors job three times a year but because I’m the sort of person who will stand up and let management walk all over the staff when the supervisors job came up they gave it to a guy who had no supervisory experience, had caused more damage to the trucks and walls he’d run into than all of us put together and no one liked. The guy didn’t even last 12 months and in that time the wages bills increased to nearly double because he couldn’t control the overtime, the company we contracted to threatened to break the contract through failed deliveries and bad delivery times, and the trucks systematically got put off the road due to heath and safety regulations. When the boss asked me if I’d consider coming back and taking the supervisors role over I told him I’d rather earn nothing and be destitute than work for him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Some places are like that. When I finally quit working for this horrible chain jewelry store while in undergrad, I had to write a resignation thing so I “would be considered for rehire if the time came.”

      My thought — “why the hell would I want to work for you anymore? You’ve made my life miserable.”

      One of the call centers I worked at kind of put the nail in the coffin for me in the way of call centers. You might not have these types of call centers where you live, but say you go into a dealership and look at a car, the attendant takes your information down. You think, “Hey they’re going to call me back if there’s a deal or what have you.”

      Nope.

      They sell your information to a third party who then calls you and hounds you to buy a car.

      I was the person who called you and hounded you to buy a car.

      And I despised every second of it.

      The nail in the coffin for that job — they get paid by how many calls are taken. More people = more calls. There was on day where the AC needed servicing or some work. Now, we work on a points system for attendance. I was right at my limit. And lets face it, that kind of job, folks DON’T want to be there, but the have to. I’m sitting there making some calls, and suddenly I start smelling chemicals. Like formaldehyde kind of shit.

      I had to step outside. When I go outside, there’s people puking, pregnant women puking… it’s bad.

      I told my supervisor this wasn’t cool.

      He said the smell was harmless — which I’m sure is what his supervisor told him to tell us.

      I grabbed my friend and just left for the day.

      I quit the very next day.

      Evidently someone reported them to OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Agency) for it.

      And they got in big trouble.

      Like

      • Thankfully I’ve never worked in a call centre like that, all my call centre work has been answering calls for Internet providers or the like. 20+ years ago when I ran an Internet Cafe is used to get all the after hours calls for the Internet provider because back then they didn’t have a 24 hour call number and because there was really only one provider in town so everyone figured I ran it. Was a pain but it was ok until the company found out and cracked the shits because I wasn’t helping people. I asked them when they planned to pay me for being their call centre and they stopped talking to me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, this rings so true right now. I am nowhere near as talented/smart as you, but I am looking at an entry level social media job right now (which barely exist) and either the jobs are part time for like $8/hr or you need like 8 years of experience managing, for a Social Media Associate job, that pays $12/hr. It is such a bunch of crap out there. People call these entry level so they can pay a small salary, but want someone that has been doing it for 20 years. I feel for you, girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think you made me blush! Lol

      But yeah…. the whole job market is a joke.

      Employers act like folks can’t be trained to do a job.

      And wanting 5 years experience for something entry level then not paying anything. It is patently absurd and insulting.

      Someone forwarded me an application for a job that I know I can do, but based on the qualifications I wouldn’t even get an interview.

      I now have a running list of HR chicanery that I refuse to do when/if I ever own my own business.

      If it makes you feel better, S.O.’ s got a masters degree in public admin and only makes like $12.50/hour in his field. I havent finished mine and I make almost $15 working in not my field.

      Discouraging right?

      My dad offered to put him to work starting at $20/hour hanging drywall with him. But it would involve moving to Orlando, dealing with my parents, construction work, and pretty much saying “fuck you masters degree” — four things he doesn’t want to do.

      Apologies for typos — replying on phone.

      Like

      • Yeah, I hear that about getting a master’s. It seems that if you aren’t in computers or managing some technology or social media site, you are making $10-$12 an hour. Unbelievable. Maybe we should start a company that pays people a living wage for doing stuff that they can do. Uggh.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve recently been on the job search merry-go-round (after an experience similar to yours) and was also amazed at the amount of education and experience HR wanted for some very low-paying jobs. I wasn’t sure who was being unrealistic – them or me. However, I now have a job that pays me what I’m worth and that I also like – a very good thing. 🙂 I’m also INTP and understand what you mean.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

