The Death of Chris Cornell

Chris-Cornell-645x366

This man is one of the reasons I even started listening to rock/grunge in the 90’s.

The first Audioslave album — I played it in my car until it wouldn’t play anymore. I loved it that much.

Update: According to NPR, his death has been ruled a suicide. This breaks my heart, so much.

Pearls and swine bereft of me
Long and weary my road has been
I was lost in the cities
Alone in the hills
No sorrow or pity for leaving I feel
I am not your rolling wheels
I am the highway
I am not your carpet ride
I am the sky
Friends and liars don’t wait for me
I’ll get on all by myself
I put millions of miles
Under my heels
And still too close to you
I feel
I am not your rolling wheels
I am the highway
I am not your carpet ride
I am the sky
I am not your blowing wind
I am the lightning
I am not your autumn moon
I am the night
The night
Audioslave, “I am the Highway”

sig

14 thoughts on “The Death of Chris Cornell

    • Hey! This comment wasn’t spamified! What!!!

      Usually I just waited for you to “like” a comment then would check my spam box. I guess approving you from the admin panel worked.

      But yeah, very sad. I loved Chris Cornell. Their first album, the one with “Like a Stone” defined my high school years.

      When I was teaching myself guitar, “Doesn’t Remind Me” was the first song I taught myself to play.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yeah i didn’t like since it was a test to see if I was talking to myself.

        Was just reading a report saying the kids are treating it as suicide but waiting for a medical report. Sounds like another that could be lost to drugs. I thought he cleaned up his act the last few years.

        My main reason for listening to them was because they weren’t Nirvana 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • I remember hearing he had problems with drugs/alcohol in the past, but was over that. I heard suicide. Folks on reddit who went to their show the night prior in Detroit were saying how he seemed a little off. I mean, it could have been anything. Drugs/alcohol may have weakened his heart or he could have had an aneurysm.

          Between my middle school years and my high school years, I had a complete transition in the kind of music I listened to. When I was in middle school I’d listen to the worst top 40 — Britney Spears, Christina, BSB, Nsync… And then I got tired of the same thing playing over and over on the popular station. I remember when I changed the station and Breaking Benjamin’s “So Cold” came on. I’ve been a metal head/rocker ever since. Audioslave’s first album came out around that time and I remember hearing “Show Me How To Live” and I just remember being enthralled. Same with Foo Fighters.

          Liked by 1 person

          • I see a report today saying he hung himself, guess it will be up to the internet experts to decode why he did it and what led up to it now that the medical examiner has done his job.

            Thankfully I was never into top40, I listened to a lot of 60’s and 70 growing up because that what was around the house. But I was only about 8 when I first heard Kiss and from there things just got heavier. When grunge was popular I was into really heavy stuff and thought Cobain was a dickhead and refused to listen to quite a lot of the genre. I didn’t give Dave Grohl any real respect as a muso until he started Foo Fighters. I used to hear Soundgarden a lot on late night radio when I spent all night on IRC instead of getting sleep for work.

            Liked by 1 person

          • You were spared the horrible pop music of the early 2000’s. That’s when I was in my formative teen years and you weren’t “cool” if you didn’t listen to shit music. If I could go back to then, knowing what I know now, I’d totally punched the asshole bullies in the face. I was a juvenile. I would have gotten away with it. Teeheeheehee.

            Liked by 1 person

          • I was never cool as a teenager. I moved from the city to the country when I was 10 but I still had connections to the city so while all the kids were relying on the local top40 music shop I had my cousin buying crap loads of metal. I had the patched jackets, long hair and black t-shirts and they had top 40. I didn’t fit in and I didn’t give a shit. Towards the end of secondary school the cool kids started getting into metal like Bon Jovi and Motley Crue, I would listen to such but my mainstay had gone up another bar towards death metal because it was different and the cool kids hated it.

            If we had year books my photo would definitely have had “most likely to become a mass murder” written under it.

            Liked by 1 person

          • I didn’t give a fuck because I was a long haired prick who answered back, and had an opinion, but I was also lazy and probably insecure enough not to make a scene so I just went with the flow and accepted that people didn’t like me. I still do the same thing but I’m more outspoken now and that gets me in trouble. Fancy speaking your mind when you’re upset at something, it only lets people know they’ve upset you and pisses them off because you don’t agree with them. I’m such a shit!

            Liked by 1 person

  1. Maybe sharing a little too much, found your site. Well, I hit forty and I think my existential crisis started in my twenties and it has not left. I’ve seen the passing of many stars as well as close friends and families and and it does not get easier or better. From one of the fathers of Existentialism “Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards. — SOREN KIERKEGAARD, is quite appropriate. I remember my first was River Phoenix. Coming home drunk to my college dorm and hearing the news. Growing up with this guy was crushing, like losing a brother, then Cobain. Not sure if these guy got me off to my start into drugs and booze, but it seemed living on the edge. For those of us with an existential outlook, these habits are very appealing anyway. It seems when one the we relate to in any sense leaves us, a piece of our soul is cut out. Thanks for your share. If you’re into anything existential, depression, life-matters, such, check out my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment… it’s weird when a celebrity dies. I mean for instance, Prince — I thought he was alright. I really wasn’t into his music, but it was still sad. With Chris Cornell passing, it was harder because his music defined a period in my life when I was doing a lot of growing and introspection.

      Hindsight is a hell of a thing. You definitely understand more looking back. Mostly I look back and cringe. I’ll probably look back at all of this in 10 years and cringe even more. I try to think of it as doing the best that I can given the tools that I have.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

