The Keto Diaries — The Awkward Work Kitchen Conversations

awkwardconversation2

It happened twice in one day… it must be a thing.

There’s this really nice lady, who means well, that works on my side of the building but not in my unit.

“Oh my gosh, you look like you’ve gotten skinnier.”

“Yep. I’ve lost 37lbs.”

“What! What are you doing.”

To avoid this long conversation about metabolic processes and ketosis and how your body uses fat for energy, I just said “low carb.”

“I hear that’s dangerous.”

download

It’s a lot less dangerous than when I was eating bad foods and fatter. Like, my joints ached, hormonal problems, etc…

I just said, “I know what I’m doing and I’ve talked with my doctor.”

People suddenly seem more critical of you when you are doing something good for yourself. Like, you doing well for yourself makes them feel bad they’re not doing anything better with their lives and they have to throw some negativity in there.

Or “shade” as the youngsters say.

The second isn’t keto related, but even more awkward.

I was dropping off some mail and someone within my unit, but usually I just mumble “hi” to, asked me about school.

download

“So, uh… I’m taking a break. Because… uh… work pays the bills and school doesn’t.”

“I understand it took me six years to complete a four year degree because I worked. What are you getting your masters in?”

“Criminology.”

“Oh, what do you want to do with it; work in law enforcement?”

Flash back in my mind of when I was told I couldn’t work for state law enforcement because I have $10k of medical bills just chilling on my credit that I can’t pay off because I’m owning the paycheck-to-paycheck life.

I couldn’t figure out what was more awkward… mentioning that or just admitting….

“I have no idea what I’m doing with my life right now.”

It was easier than to explain I was both an educational and a financial failure.

“I understand.”

You probably don’t. But thanks for trying.

sig

32 thoughts on “The Keto Diaries — The Awkward Work Kitchen Conversations

  1. Every time you talk about Keto I want a bag of potato chips.

    As for the financial and educational failure I’m glad you used the term “WAS” because if you used present tense you and I would be having a problem right now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am on a low carb diet as well. So I totally understand the annoyance of questions and judgement! What I love is when an overweight person who just polished off a donut tells me I’m going to ruin my system and how bad my diet is! Really?! Lol
    -Ang

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

