The Day at the Springs and Painting Projects

Wakulla-Springs_company_full

Good morning, fine folks!

S.O. and I spent Saturday at Wakulla Springs and it was absolutely glorious.

For those who haven’t been to a freshwater spring, the water is a refreshing 69 degrees Fahrenheit. They had a roped off swimming area, boat tours, and a nine mile hiking trail.

We just did the swimming.

_685

Hiking was definitely on the list, but I left my sneakers at my office… and left my key card in my car.

But the water was so lovely, crystal clear and refreshingly cool.

When you first go in, it is pretty shocking. Best just to get about thigh high, then dunk yourself.

We also packed some delicious keto snacks: pork rinds, cucumber salad, salami and pepperoni, olives, and some almonds.

19956802_10102363431830923_7371391406703986667_o

And not only did I forget my sneakers, but I also forgot my beach blanket.

Fail.

But we arrived pretty early, thankfully. By about noon it got pretty crowded.

Also, we saw a manatee.

Wakulla-Springs-manatee-Florida-Panama-City

It came right up to the dock and just was chilling, eating some of the underwater veg growing on the pilings.

The refreshingly cool water also wore us out pretty quickly. In addition to swimming around, trying to maintain temp balance burns calories.

So, when we got home, we just took a nap.

Even though I plastered on sun block, I still got a little toasty.

Sunday was another lazy day.

I’m working on two painting projects.

The first one was the 3×3 plywood board I was using as a table — I removed the seat of one of my bar stools and used the board as a table top.

Since I went ahead and turned said bar stool back into a bar stool, I didn’t want to discard the plywood top.

So I’m painting a mural with feathers on the top and I’m going to hang it as wall art.

I also found some decent sized canvas on sale at Michaels and I spray painted it medium gray. I’m going to oil pastel some pretty feathers on the canvas and hang it with the board I’m currently painting feathers on.

I’ll post pictures when I’m done.

sig

Love what you see? Keep the love going by supporting my writing through Patreon!

5 thoughts on “The Day at the Springs and Painting Projects

  1. Hello. Oh wow, your day at the springs looks amazing! That’s definitely something I’d love to do. And you saw a manatee!! It looks magical! ..
    ..you sound like you have some interesting projects on the go at the moment. I’m looking forward to seeing the finished products!
    Take care
    – Carly

    Liked by 1 person

    • I loved it. With the majority of my family living in FL, we would often go see them and take trips to the various springs around the state. If you haven’t been, check out DeLeon Springs as well, it’s about 20 minutes from Daytona and it is so incredibly beautiful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

